MAS 36: Complete

Cold War, Complete builds, Custom builds, MAS 36, Products, Rifles, Weapons, WWII

Though I say so myself, she’s rather nice. When I first took on the MAS 36 build, it was just an interesting commission. Now, I rather want one. A fascinating rifle and it’s satisfying to have an airsoft version of it.

_DSC8957

The far side, showing the sling arrangement.

_DSC8959

The rear sight is designed along the same lines as the original.

_DSC8912

To adjust the elevation, you press down the leaf and move the slider. The markings are visible in this picture as well, recessed deep into the receiver like the originals

_DSC8913

The VSR magwell, shared between the foreguard and receiver. As you can see, this is the MkII magwell, which allows you to fit an extension if you struggle with the catch, useful for cold weather if you have to wear gloves.

_DSC8915

The 3D printed middle band. It should be strong enough for use as I thickened it quite significantly, not to mention the steel screw running through it

_DSC8917

The original woodwork really adds to this build. As and when I can do another I may make the top guard a good bit skinnier.

_DSC8918

The bolt, all oil finished. Though I say so myself it looks the part.

_DSC8921

The bolt handle operates at 90º, like the original.

_DSC8924

At the front, something important was missing. I realised it was the bayonet. I had a MAS bayonet mould made up already for the FG42, so I made another and adjusted it to fit.

_DSC8925

Every rifle wants a bayonet really, but especially when it is built in. This one has a plastic stiffener running through it to prevent excessive wobble.

_DSC8927

 

If you like this build you can see the rest of the project here. If you have an idea of your own, drop us a line on enquiries.vintageairsoft@gmail.com to discuss. ‘Like’ our Facebook page or follow the blog to get regular updates on projects and interesting videos and articles.

 

Don’t forget you can buy our smaller items via Etsy. Our larger items can be found here.

2 thoughts on “MAS 36: Complete

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.